This page is an introduction to a few of Richmont Graduate University's library resources pertaining to race and ethnicity in the United States. For serious research it would be best to begin by searching our databases, which we have organized into three separate categories: historical databases, social science databases, and supplementary databases. Also highlighted are a few of the more relevant journals we carry on race and ethnicity, as well as a handful of introductory books to get you started.
"Cultural Diversity & Ethnic Minority Psychology® seeks to advance the psychological science of culture, ethnicity, and race through the publication of empirical research, as well as theoretical, conceptual, and integrative review articles that will stimulate further empirical research, on basic and applied psychological issues relevant to racial and ethnic groups that have been historically subordinated, underrepresented, or underserved."
Cultural Diversity & Ethnic Minority Psychology is published quarterly.
"Ethnicity & Health is an international academic journal designed to meet the world-wide interest in the health of ethnic groups. It embraces original papers from the full range of disciplines concerned with investigating the relationship between ’ethnicity’ and ’health’ (including medicine and nursing, public health, epidemiology, social sciences, population sciences, and statistics). The journal also covers issues of culture, religion, gender, class, migration, lifestyle and racism, in so far as they relate to health and its anthropological and social aspects."
Ethnicity and Health is published bi-monthly.
"Since 1977, The Western Journal of Black Studies (WJBS) has been a leading interdisciplinary journal that is devoted to publishing scholarly articles, from a wide range of disciplines that focus mainly on the experience of African Americans in the United States of America. The journal publishes articles that, as its name implies, report original investigations and contribute new knowledge and understanding to the field of Black/African American Studies. Theoretical articles and works concerning the African diaspora are welcome if whenever possible they include data research and implications for applicability. All manuscripts are selected by blind peer review."
The Western Journal of Black Studies is published quarterly.
"The Asian American Journal of Psychology is the official publication of the Asian American Psychological Association and is dedicated to research, practice, advocacy, education, and policy within Asian American psychology. The Journal publishes empirical, theoretical, methodological, and practice oriented articles and book reviews covering topics relevant to Asian American individuals and communities, including prevention, intervention, training, and social justice. Particular consideration is given to empirical articles using quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methodology."
The Asian American Journal of Psychology is published quarterly.
"Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development (JMCD) is the official journal of the Association for Multicultural Counseling and Development (AMCD), a division of the American Counseling Association. Contains articles on the many aspects of multilingualism & multiculturalism; aims to range widely in all ways covering, for example, contributions to theory, reports of research studies, descriptions of educational policies & systems, etc."
The Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development is published six times a year.
"The Michigan Journal of Race & Law is a legal journal that serves as a forum for the exploration of issues relating to race and law. To that end, MJR&L publishes articles, notes, and essays on the cutting edge of civil rights scholarship from a wide variety of scholarly perspectives. MJR&L’s diversity is reflected by the authors with whom we collaborate, ranging from scholars and students to practitioners and social scientists. In addition to having been recognized as one of the leading civil rights journals in the country, MJR&L has also been consistently ranked among the top 25 specialty journals overall."
The Michigan Journal of Race and Law is published biannually.
"The Journal of American Ethnic History addresses various aspects of North American immigration history and American ethnic history, including background of emigration, ethnic and racial groups, Native Americans, race and ethnic relations, immigration policies, and the processes of incorporation, integration, and acculturation. Each issue contains articles, review essays, and single book reviews. The Journal also features occasional scholarly forums, "Research Comments" (short essays that furnish important information for the field, a guide to further research, or other significant historical items that will stimulate discussion and inquiry), and "Teaching and Outreach" essays which focus on innovative teaching methods or outreach efforts. The journal also publishes special issues grouping articles and essays on particular or specific topics or themes."
"The Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies (JEMS) publishes the results of first-class research on all forms of migration and its consequences, together with articles on ethnic conflict, discrimination, racism, nationalism, citizenship and policies of integration. Contributions to the journal, which are all fully refereed, are especially welcome when they are the result of original empirical research that makes a clear contribution to the field of migration."
The Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies is published 15 times a year.
"The Journal of Race, Ethnicity, and Politics (JREP) is the official journal of the Race, Ethnicity, and Politics section of the American Political Science Association. JREP highlights critical and timely research into the multiple junctures between politics and issues of race, ethnicity, immigration, and indigeneity, as well as their intersections with other axes of identity and marginalization. The journal publishes work that broadly focuses on racial and ethnic politics, from scholars across all subfields of political science and allied disciplines. The key distinguishing feature of the journal is its focus on politics, whether in a single country, across countries, or transnationally. JREP is open with respect to areas of substantive focus, with methods and approaches ranging from political theory and critical studies, to qualitative, statistical, and experimental approaches."
The Journal of Race, Ethnicity, and Politics is published biannually.
"The Journal consistently covers an array of subject areas including labor market integration; refugee status in various nations; adaptation strategies of immigrants in industrialized settings; racial and gender variations in migration; the role of social work in the integration of new citizens; and retention of ethnic and older national identities in new environments. These are issues of concern throughout the world. The journal looks at the social world with a fresh vision enhanced by the basic and applied social sciences."
The Journal of International Migration and Integration Studies is published quarterly.
"Race and Social Problems (RASP) provides a multidisciplinary forum for issues germane to race and its enduring relationship to psychological, socioeconomic, political, and cultural problems. The Journal publishes original empirical studies, reviews of past research, theoretical studies, and invited essays that advance the understanding of the complexities of race and its relationship to social problems. Submissions from the fields of social work, anthropology, communications, criminology, economics, history, law, political science, psychology, public health, and sociology are welcome."
Race and Social Problems is published quarterly.
"Learn to talk about race openly, honestly, and productively. Most people avoid discussion of race-related topics because of the strong emotions and feelings of discomfort that inevitably accompany such conversations. Rather than endure the conflict of racial realities, many people choose instead to avoid the topic altogether, or remain silent when it is raised. Race Talk and the Conspiracy of Silence: Understanding and Facilitating Difficult Dialogues on Race puts an end to that dynamic by sharing strategies for smoothing conversations about race in a productive manner. A guide for facilitating and participating in difficult dialogues about race, author Derald Wing Sue - an internationally recognized expert on multiculturalism, diversity, and microaggressions - explores the characteristics, dynamics, and meaning behind discussions about race as well as the hidden "ground rules" that inhibit honest and productive dialogue. Through emotional and visceral examples, this book explains why conversations revolving around racial issues are so difficult, and provides guidelines, techniques, and advice for navigating and leading honest and forthright discussions. Readers will develop a stronger ability to build rapport with people unlike themselves, and discover how not talking about race impacts society as a whole"
Recent events in the United States have provoked not just a willingness to discuss issues of racism in this country but a desire to do something meaningful to confront it. Race in a Post-Obama America offers concerned Christians the chance to clarify terms and issues around racism and discern how to respond.
The reader will learn the basic definitions and history around racism in the United States, be presented with current thoughts on institutional racism and what is to be done to end it, and learn about specific actions individuals and churches are taking. Designed for individual or group study, the book includes questions for reflection and discussion.
"At a time when issues of identity, diversity, and inequality are at their most complex and divisive―and very much on student’s minds―Rothenberg’s anthology is as of-the-moment, authoritative, and thought-provoking as ever. Now in a rigorously updated new edition, this longtime bestseller is again the ideal catalyst for sparking lively class discussions on variety of difficult subjects, helping students think critically about categories of race, class, gender and sexuality, and how they operate and interact in the U.S. today."
Presents primary documents to support an exploration of race relations in the United States from 1785 to 2006.
"Since the publication of the first edition of Critical Race Theory in 2001, the United States has lived through two economic downturns, an outbreak of terrorism, and the onset of an epidemic of hate directed against immigrants, especially undocumented Latinos and Middle Eastern people. On a more hopeful note, the country elected and re-elected its first black president and has witnessed the impressive advance of gay rights.
As a field, critical race theory has taken note of all these developments, and this primer does so as well. It not only covers a range of emerging new topics and events, it also addresses the rise of a fierce wave of criticism from right-wing websites, think tanks, and foundations, some of which insist that America is now colorblind and has little use for racial analysis and study."
"There is no denying that race is a critical issue in understanding the South. However, this concluding volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture challenges previous understandings, revealing the region's rich, ever-expanding diversity and providing new explorations of race relations. In 36 thematic and 29 topical essays, contributors examine such subjects as the Tuskegee Syphilis Study, Japanese American incarceration in the South, relations between African Americans and Native Americans, Chinese men adopting Mexican identities, Latino religious practices, and Vietnamese life in the region. Together the essays paint a nuanced portrait of how concepts of race in the South have influenced its history, art, politics, and culture beyond the familiar binary of black and white."
"In science, race can be a useful concept—for specific, limited purposes. When race, as a way of classifying people, is drafted into the service of politics, religion, or any belief system, then danger follows. That is the focus of this classic repudiation of racism, which is as readable and timely now as when it first appeared.Race: Science and Politics was first published in 1940, in response to the global rise of fascism and its pseudoscientific rationales for marginalizing and even exterminating “inferior” people. Writing for a general audience, Ruth Benedict ranges across the history of Western thought and research on race to illuminate rifts between the facts of race and the claims of racism. Rather than take issue only with the Nazis and their allies, Benedict set out to show that all racist beliefs are objectively groundless—and that is the key to the book's ongoing relevance. The book's bonus content includes The Races of Mankind, a pamphlet-length distillation of the book with its own controversial role in dismantling racist theory. This edition also includes a new foreword by Judith Schachter. An anthropologist, historian, and Benedict biographer, Schachter discusses the book's importance for current readers. Also included is a foreword by anthropologist Margaret Mead from 1958, a time when colonial ties around the world were unravelling and civil rights unrest was a daily occurrence in the United States."
"Everyone's daily lives are affected by race and racism in America. Race and Economics examines the role race plays in people's economic well-being, delving into the historical institutions and laws that underpin today's system and exploring what governments and activists are doing to decrease disparities. Features include essential facts, a glossary, references, websites, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO."
