School of Ministry Student Resources: Home

The New International Commentary on the New Testament (NICONT) combines readability with rigorous scholarship and textual analysis. It is one of the best all-around commentaries available and offers a great place to begin a hermeneutical study of the New Testament.

The Richmont Library provides access to the complete NICNT series in digital format.

The New International Commentary on the Old Testament (NICOT) shows that excellent scholarship and close exegesis can still be readable and engaging. Long considered as the standard commentary series on the Old Testament, NICOT offers an excellent, careful analysis of the text by preeminent Biblical scholars and linguists.

The Richmont Library provides access to the complete NICOT series in digital format.

The Brazos Theological Commentary on the Bible series brings together the contributions of many of the world's leading academic theologians. The result is a rich, deep engagement with both the words of scripture and the life of faith, utilizing a wide variety of textual approaches. These commentaries are notable for their theological reading of scripture, rather than for a strict, Historical-Critical or textualist approach.

The Richmont Library provides access to the complete Brazos series in a mixture of electronic and physical formats.

The Anchor Yale Bible Commentary series provides new translations of individual books of the Bible authored by leading Biblical scholars, accompanied by a rigorous, word-by-word commentary. This textual approach to scripture is a useful place to begin close readings of the words of scripture itself, as it was interpreted in its own time

The Richmont Library provides access to the complete Anchor Bible Commentary series, in a mixture of electronic and physical formats.

The Ancient Christian Commentary on scripture provides a wonderful introduction to how scripture was interpreted and used by the Fathers of the Early Church. Rather than providing a close exegetical reading of the text, the Ancient Christian Commentary shows what the text has meant to Christians historically, shedding light into the cultural and interpretive contexts of the intellectual and spiritual environments from which Christianity emerged.

The Richmont Libraries possess the entire Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture in a mixture of physical and electronic formats.

"In this brief collection, Father Alexander Schmemann does not have the luxury for platitudes and pleasantries on the most difficult of life's ultimate questions. Taking us to the heart of Christian revelation and anthropology, he leads us unequivocally and directly, as only he can, to discole why the apostle Paul calls death the "last enemy" (1 Cor. 15:26) and Christ's decisive answer to this enemy."

The Gospel of John's account of doubting Thomas is often told as a lesson about the veracity and triumph of Christian faith. And yet it is a story about wounds. Interpretations of this Gospel narrative, by focusing on Christ's victory in the resurrection, reflect Christianity's unease with the wounds that remain on the body of the risen Jesus. By returning readers to this familiar passage, Resurrecting Wounds expands the scope of the Upper Room to the present world where wounds mark all of humanity. Shelly Rambo rereads the Thomas story and the history of its interpretation through the lens of trauma studies to reflect on the ways that the wounds of race, gender, and war persist. Wounds do not simply go away, even though a close reading of John Calvin reveals his theological investments in removing wounds. This erasure reflects a dominant mode of Christian thinking, but it is not the only Christian reading. By contrast, Macrina's scar, in Gregory of Nyssa's account of her life and death, displays how resurrection can be inscribed in wounds, particularly in the illumination of her body after her death. The scar, produced in and through a mother's touch, recalls a healing, linking resurrection to the work of tending wounds. Much like Christ's wounds and Macrina's scar, racial wounds can be found on the skin of America's collective life. The wounds of racial histories, unhealed, resurface again and again. The wounds of war persist as well, despite a cultural calculus that links the suffering of a soldier with that of Christ. Again, the visceral display of Jesus' wounds, when placed at the center of Thomas' encounter in the Upper Room, enacts a vision of resurrecting that addresses the real harm of the real wounds of war. The powerful Upper Room images of resurrection--encounters with wounds, the invitation to touch, and the formation of a community--present visions of truth-telling and of healing that grapple with the pressing questions of wounds surfacing in the midst of human encounters with violence, suffering, and trauma. While traditional accounts of resurrection in Christian theology have focused on the afterlife, this book forges a theology of resurrection wounds in the afterliving. By returning again and again to Christ's woundedness, we discover ways to live with our own. - from publishers.

Offers a radical look at the life of the apostle, focusing on the essence of Paul's life and an understanding of his Jewish heritage.,In this definitive biography, renowned Bible scholar, Anglican bishop, and bestselling author N. T. Wright offers a radical look at the apostle Paul, illuminating the humanity and remarkable achievements of this intellectual who invented Christian theology--transforming a faith and changing the world. For centuries, Paul, the apostle who "saw the light on the Road to Damascus" and made a miraculous conversion from zealous Pharisee persecutor to devoted follower of Christ, has been one of the church's most widely cited saints. While his influence on Christianity has been profound, N. T. Wright argues that Bible scholars and pastors have focused so much attention on Paul's letters and theology that they have too often overlooked the essence of the man's life and the extreme unlikelihood of what he achieved. To Wright, "The problem is that Paul is central to any understanding of earliest Christianity, yet Paul was a Jew; for many generations Christians of all kinds have struggled to put this together." Wright contends that our knowledge of Paul and appreciation for his legacy cannot be complete without an understanding of his Jewish heritage. Giving us a thoughtful, in-depth exploration of the human and intellectual drama that shaped Paul, Wright provides greater clarity of the apostle's writings, thoughts, and ideas and helps us see them in a fresh, innovative way. Paul is a compelling modern biography that reveals the apostle's greater role in Christian history--as an inventor of new paradigms for how we understand Jesus and what he accomplished--and celebrates his stature as one of the most effective and influential intellectuals in human history

"In Theological Territories, David Bentley Hart, one of America's most eminent contemporary writers on religion, reflects on the state of theology "at the borders" of other fields of discourse-metaphysics, philosophy of mind, science, the arts, ethics, and biblical hermeneutics in particular. The book advances many of Hart's larger theological projects, developing and deepening numerous dimensions of his previous work. Theological Territories constitutes something of a manifesto regarding the manner in which theology should engage other fields of concern and scholarship. The essays are divided into five sections on the nature of theology, the relations between theology and science, the connections between gospel and culture, literary representations of and engagements with transcendence, and the New Testament. Hart responds to influential books, theologians, philosophers, and poets, including Rowan Williams, Jean-Luc Marion, Tomáš Halík, Sergei Bulgakov, Jennifer Newsome Martin, and David Jones, among others. The twenty-six chapters are drawn from live addresses delivered in various settings. Most of the material has never been printed before, and those parts that have appear here in expanded form. Throughout, these essays show how Hart's mind works with the academic veneer of more formal pieces stripped away. The book will appeal to both academic and non-academic readers interested in the place of theology in the modern world"