The Richmont Libraries use GALILEO as its primary platform. Through GALILEO, students can search all of the Richmont Library collections, including databases, journal articles, books (both electronic and physical) and streaming videos. Students may narrow their searches in GALILEO by database, and even use GALILEO to navigate to individual databases and publications. Finally, GALILEO provides students with a place to organize sources, create bibliographies, and request items via interlibrary loan.
This page will provide a short introduction to how to use some of GALILEO's features. Further detailed instructions for how to searching for individual books and articles may be found in the How to Find Books and Searching Databases pages.
To learn more about GALILEO, cycle through the tabs in this box, or get started by using the below search box.
As always, should you experience any access issues or need any assistance, do not hesitate to contact us at libraries@richmont.edu, or to visit the GALILEO FAQ page.
Searching in GALILEO is easy and intuitive. If you are just looking to execute a simple search of the Richmont Library collections, start by navigating to the GALILEO homepage. I'd recommend bookmarking this page, as you will be using it a lot during your time here at Richmont.
From the Homepage, choose whether you want to do a Bento or Classic search. This will not change the scope of the search, only how the search results are displayed. You can also navigate to a specific database or journal by selecting the "All Databases" or "All Journals" links in the upper right-hand menu, or by selecting one of the databases below the search bar.
A Bento Search will break down search results by format--whether the item is an article, an eBook, a physical book in the Richmont collection, or something else. Bento searches are great at providing you with a broad overview of the types of resources available on a given subject.
To narrow search results further, simply select one of the Bento search boxes. This will allow you to narrow the search results for that format by publication date, subject, language, publisher, database, etc.
A Classic Search puts all search results in a single search results page, regardless of the resource format. Classic Search makes it easier to narrow down search results by parameters other than format, including peer review status, full text availability, search type, publication, and date.
Finally, the Advanced Search feature makes it possible to even further narrow search results by applying even more filters, allowing students to search by subject, author, all text, publication date, and abstract.
One of the most useful features in GALILEO is the project folder. By using project folders, users can collect and organize sources found in GALILEO, setting them aside for later use. This greatly streamlines the research process, making it easy to return and find valuable information for your assignments.
1) To use the project folders in GALILEO, first sign-in by selecting MyEBSCO in the upper right-hand corner of the search results page. So long as you're logged-in to your official Richmont email address, your credentials should be validated automatically through OpenAthens authentication. Then, search for sources related to your subject.
2) When you have located a source you'd like to save, select the folder icon in the upper right-hand menu above the resource title. From here, you will have the option to add the resource to an existing project
3) You can navigate existing projects in the left-hand My Dashboard menu. From here, you can view and access all records in your project folder. You can make multiple project folders for different interests and assignments, and even set due-dates and include project notes in the project description.
GALILEO provides access to many research tools, including citation generators. Through GALILEO, it is possible to create and export citations for books, articles, and videos in a variety of different citation styles, including Chicago, APA 7th edition, and MLA. These citations may be copied to clipboards, sent via email, or exported to citation managers such as EasyBib, RefWorks, and Zotero.
Citation managers are excellent tools for saving time. However, please remember that citation generators are fallible, so make sure to check all citations for completeness and accuracy before including them in your written work.
Exporting citations is easy in GALILEO. Simply follow the following steps:
1) Locate the book or article you'd like to cite through a GALILEO search. Select the resource you would like to cite from the search results page, and click the vertical ellipses menu in the upper right-hand corner of the item description.
2) Select the double quotation mark icon to cite the resource. Choose the appropriate citation style (generally either APA 7th Edition or Chicago 17th Edition). From here, you can either export the citation to a citation manager, or copy the citation to a clipboard.
3) The process for creating and exporting citations in EBSCO is similar. Simply select "Cite" or "Export" in the right-hand tools menu. There are also options to add citations to a OneDrive or Google Drive in this menu.
How to request items in GALILEO through interlibrary Loan.
GALILEO indexes millions of books and articles that are not available immediately to read. GALILEO provides information about these resources--including subject tags, references, abstracts, authors, and publication information--but not the full text of the resource itself.
1) First, execute a search in GALILEO or in the EBSCO database of your choice. Indexed resources appear in GALILEO and EBSCO search results page with the option to "Request this item through interlibrary loan." Before requesting an item, it's always a good idea to read some of the information about it--including the abstract and subject tags--just to confirm that this article will be useful.
2) To request indexed items through interlibrary loan, simply select this option, and GALILEO will generate a form which automatically populates many of the fields, including article title, journal title, author, date, volume, and digital object identifier.
3) Most of the information about the item you're requesting will populate automatically. However, you still need to provide your full name, email address, Richmont status and campus, and agree to adhere to copyright restrictions. This will allow us to fulfill your request in a prompt manner.
4) After filling out your personal contact information, simply submit the form. This will send the completed form to libraries@richmont.edu, and one of the library staff will get back to you about your request in a timely manner. We try to fulfill all requests within a few business days, although some requests might take much longer.
Often, a good strategy at the beginning of a research project is to narrow search results by querying an individual database. While most of these databases are queried in a GALILEO search, you may find that choosing a specific database helps to filter out irrelevant or unwanted search results. You may also find that it is easier to perform a very specific search in a specific database, as opposed to searching the entire GALILEO collection at one time. For more information on this, see Searching Databases: An Introduction)
To search an individual database, select All Databases in the upper right-hand corner of the GALILEO homepage. From here, you can search for the specific database you'd like to query. Some of the best databases for School of Counseling students include PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES, while School of Ministry students would be advised to begin with ATLA Serials.
Once you have found the database you'd like to query, you can narrow down your search according to a number of parameters on the EBSCO search page, including publication date, subject, peer-review status, full-text availability, and many, many more.
For a tutorial on EBSCO Advanced Searching, see the below video: