This guide serves as a starting point for conducting research in the Richmont Graduate University School of Counseling. It includes links to major databases in the social and behavioral sciences, as well as to periodicals, new books, useful websites, and video streaming services like Symptom Media and Psychotherapy.net.
As always, your Richmont Librarians are here to help at any stage in the research process. If you need to get in touch with us for any reason, you may email us at libraries@richmont.edu, or fill out one of the below forms:
• Need something we don't have? Inter-Library Loan Request Form
• Need help on a paper or research project? Schedule a Research Consultation or a Paper Review
• Still need help? Ask a Librarian.
PsycINFO, American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries, and ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,200 periodicals in more than 27 languages. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 137,000 articles from 66 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycARTICLES is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
APA PsycTests’ expertly-created metadata allows you to instantly find and download instruments for research or teaching. Each record provides a summary of the construct and users can find information on reliability, validity, and factor analysis when that data is reported in the source document. Records include supplemental information such as datasets, answer keys, scoring sheets, and test manuals, when available. Instructors can refer to the record’s Permissions field to easily determine if a test may be used for teaching. APA PsycTests is an excellent resource to reach for when planning a research project or looking for a diagnostic tool to employ in clinical practice.
This database includes articles from 410 full-text journals covering all aspects of human psychology and behavior, as well as the social sciences, anthropology, counseling, and psychiatric medicine, as well as observational and experimental research methods. This database serves as an excellent supplement to APA PsycArticles and APA PsycInfo, being somewhat more broad in scope.
ProQuest Psychology Journals provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1,000 titles. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research. Additionally, ProQuest Psychology Journals includes 4,000 full-text dissertations representing a range of psychology disciplines including behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, personality, physiological, psychobiology, psychometrics, and social psychology. Dissertation content is available for the years spanning 2000 through 2006.
ProQuest provides a range of full-text and index resources across social science disciplines, and the Social Science Premium Collection is the single complete solution that brings these together. It serves researchers across regions, markets, and disciplines with high quality titles from around the world. The Social Science Premium Collection provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations, and more, including over 4,300 full-text titles.
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals. This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
